Blog · Girly Things

My Hatchimal Experience & BEST DAY EVER

Yes, I am 30 years old. Yes, I just bought myself a Hatchimal, and I have zero fucks to give.

Not too long ago, I watched one of my favorite YouTubers unbox one, and I thought it was one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen. Yesterday morning started off like any other. I slept in until about 10am, and after sipping on my lifeline (coffee), I played Tattletail for a bit on Steam. I wanted to review it for Enthusiacs.com so it was time I had a refresher. Well, in the middle of my game I was thinking dang I want a Furby. At the same time I was doubting this thought because I know how annoying they can be. Well, that’s when it hit me: Hatchimals are a thing.

I texted my husband and begged him to take me to Toys R Us after work, and he not only agreed but he also offered for us to eat dinner at Wok Box. After calling and speaking with three different people who couldn’t tell me if the Toys R Us exclusive Owlicorn was in stock or not, I finally asked for the manager. He was amazing, found one right away, and put it aside for me. Yes, I’m serious. I’m a big kid at heart and that will never change.

One thing to keep in mind: the coloring of these are so different in person! On their website, the pink Owlicorn looks so different from the one I have. I’m thrilled about this, though, cause it’s the perfect color for me. And the other option looks blue online, but in YouTube videos and on the box, it looks more purple. So, to me, both Owlicorn variations look like girls. To me, this is fantastic! But don’t go re-buying if you really want a “boy” and instead look at the Draggles.

I almost ran into the store a few hours later. I knew the cashier was going to tease me, I just knew it…

Him (smugly smiling): “Is this for you?”
Me: “No”
Him: (smirking): “Do you need a gift receipt?”
Me: “…No”

We got back into the car and I cuddled the box on the way to Wok Box…

IMG_3408
Which one will I hatch? Blue or pink? (please be pink!!!!)

After dinner, we decided to head into a mall and look for Magic The Gathering cards at EB Games. They are a RIPOFF there, at $1.50 more per pack than they are at the local comic shops. We went into Walmart and found a nice mystery box for a decent price. I eyed the Walmart exclusive Hatchimal while hubby picked out the cards.

Finally, we got Dairy Queen and I got an Oreo Blizzard. What a day… But it doesn’t end there! As soon as we got home we watched playoff hockey while I began the hatching process of my little baby. Cradling it and cuddling it while it began to hatch was such a crazy and fun experience. If you tap the egg, it’ll tap back and even repeat whatever pattern you do! Amazing.

As it started to really peck its way through, I saw a purple beak and almost died. That means I got the PINK ONE! A beautiful, pink owlicorn on my very first try. What luck!! My husband was a real trooper and watched as I squealed over having the pink one. He didn’t tease me once! LOVE HIM!

Like many others, I did have to help it along by knocking a few little pieces off that it seemed to keep missing. But before I knew it my little baby was free!

IMG_3460
Hello, baby!

I took so many photos, you would think it was a real mom with a real baby. In fact, one of my guy friends who was seeing me freak out over this pointed out that it was probably some maternal instinct kicking in. Who knows? Maybe he’s right. I do know, however, that I do NOT want actual children, and I’m happy to have furbabies (real and fake) to release these maternal vibes onto.

This thing is not annoying at all! It has a soft, sweet voice and just giggles and “coos” at you. It can be switched off at any time, and can even be turned down to half-volume. It can be taught to walk, plays simple games, and even repeats back what you say to it. It’s less complicated than Furbies are these days, and depending on preference, this is either a good thing or a bad thing. Fantastic, adorable, product! I love mine ♥

So yeah… BEST. DAY. EVER!

xoxo,
Dark Princess ♥

Leave a Reply

