Blog

No Man’s Sky – The Endless Wait

I sit here on Thursday, August 4th, and I can’t think about anything but No Man’s Sky… I know, I’m insane. But this wait has felt endless, and as vast as the universe we are all waiting to explore. I first heard about the game a few years back, when buzz had started swirling about this space exploration game, with the largest game world ever created. Since then, after numerous delays, lawsuits, and spoilers slamming the internet, I have grown more and more excited for its release. But can No Man’s Sky live up to the hype? I can’t speak for everyone, but my hopes are so sky high (that’s right, I said SKY, sue me, heh..) that I can’t help but wonder if it can possibly live up to my expectations. I want to say it’s impossible, but the more I’ve watched (too many) interviews and YouTube analytical videos, I can’t help but become more and more convinced that it will be one of my favorite games of all time.

Yes, there’s an elephant in the room. Recently a Reddit user claimed that he spent over $1,000 for a leaked copy of No Man’s Sky. Since then, he has posted spoilers as well as announcing that he had already made it to the center of the 18 quintillion planet universe. What lies there? How did he manage to get there so quickly? If he did… I don’t have answers on this because I refuse to read/watch what he has experienced. In fact, I will refuse to read any comments that may possibly show up here until after I’ve played it. You really can’t trust the internet anymore. Facebook is trending with details about trophies, and information about what the first big patch will be focused on. Twitter is buzzing over his findings, and I am accidentally stumbling across articles that laugh at the game’s apparent failure, while others are saying he’s not a trustworthy source and to ignore him. I am in the latter camp and the second my local store opens, I am going to head in, rush back home, and find out for myself.

xoxo,
Dark Princess

Leave a Reply

